UG Articles Archive

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Amon Amarth reveal album art, track list for Surtur Rising, due March 29th

Swedish Melodic Death Metal powerhouse Amon Amarth has officially released the album art and track list for their 8th studio album "Surtur Rising," which releases in the US on March 29th.  I could not be more excited for this album, it seems the band gets better and better with each release.  The band will make an appearance at the 70,000 Tons of Metal Caribbean cruise/ metal festival as an unofficial kickoff to the CD's release.

The album is named after Surtur, the leader of the fire giants of Muspelheim ("flame land") and the oldest being in the nine worlds of Norse mythology.  The band claims it will feature "10 tracks of sword-wielding, fist-pumping, hyper climactic battle anthems."  I really hope this album lives up to the hype its generated thus far, but the album art is certainly a good start.  Here's the cover and the track list:

Surtur Rising Track Listing:

01. War of the Gods
02. Töck's Taunt - Loke's Treachery Part II
03. Destroyer of the Universe
04. Slaves of Fear
05. Live Without Regrets
06. The Last Stand of Frej
07. For Victory or Death
08. Wrath of the Norsemen
09. A Beast Am I
10. Doom Over Dead Man

March 29th can't come soon enough.

1 comment:

  1. I see Amon Amarth are steering away from their usual lyrical themes to write about Norse Mythology and vikings. :P Seriously though, I can't wait for the new album!